The Atlas


Jurisdictions | Gates


Clickable areas on the map are: En, Kei, Kou, Tai, and the Yellow Sea.

Map of the Twelve Kingdoms Kingdom of Tai Yellow Sea Kingdom of En Kingdom of Kei Kingdom of Kou




  • Kingdom (国〜くに)

    The 12 kingdoms are called En, Han, Hou, Kei, Kou, Kyou, Ren, Ryuu, Sai, Shun, Sou, and Tai. Each kingdom has nine provinces.


  • Province (州〜しゅう)

    There are nine provinces in each kingdom. The number of prefectures in a province varies.


  • District (郡〜ぐん)

    Every district has four prefectures. Viceroys (太守) govern districts.


  • Prefecture (郷〜ごう)

    Every prefecture has five counties.


  • County (県〜けん)


  • City (党〜とう)

    Jurisdictions created for administrative purposes only. These "cities" contain the county and prefecture seats.


  • City (街〜まち)

    Walled communities.


  • Township (族〜ぞく)

    Jurisdictions created for administrative purposes only. Townships are managed by risai and chourou.


  • Town (里〜り)

    Towns are walled communities overseen by Elders. (Enho)


  • Hamlet (廬〜ろ)

    Unwalled farming communities.


  • Sea (海〜かい)

    There are five seas: The Red Sea, the Black Sea, the Blue Sea, the White Sea, and the Sea of Emptiness. There is also the "Yellow Sea," but the Yellow Sea is a "sea" in name alone. It is a landmass, not a body of water.




Kingdom Gates

Gogou Gate (呉剛の門)

Used to travel back and forth between the twelve kingdoms and the world of the kaikyaku and sankyaku, Gogou Gate can only be opened in the moon's shadow, using the moon's power. The ability to open the gate can only be achieved by top-ranked sages or youma like meishoku.

The Twelve Gates (十二門)

From every district to prefecture castle there are twelve gates. The gates are named after their respective zodiac animals, and are positioned according to their zodiac directions. Even the months each gate corresponds to in the zodiac has importance, as can be seen by how Chi Gate, which only opens during the spring equinox, takes the place of the Dragon and Snake Gates (March-April, aka spring).

Rat Gate / Shi Gate / 子門

Sign of the Rat. North. November. In kingdom and provincial capitals, in place of Rat Gate, kingdom and provincial government offices rest atop ryouun mountains.

Ox Gate / Chuu Gate / 丑門

Sign of the Ox. North-northeast. December.

Tiger Gate / In Gate / 寅門

Sign of the Tiger. East-northeast. January.

Hare Gate / U Gate / 卯門

Sign of the Hare. East. February.

Dragon Gate / Shin Gate / 辰門

Sign of the Dragon. East-southeast. March. In Ken, Chi Gate takes the place of this gate.

Snake Gate / Mi Gate / 巳門

Sign of the Snake. South-southeast. April. In Ken, Chi Gate takes the place of this gate.

Horse Gate / Go Gate / 午門

Sign of the Horse. South. May.

Ram Gate / Bi Gate / 未門

Sign of the Ram. South-southwest. June.

Monkey Gate / Shi Gate / 申門

Sign of the Monkey. West-southwest. July.

Rooster Gate / Yuu Gate / 酉門

Sign of the Rooster. West. August.

Dog Gate / Jutsu Gate / 戌門

Sign of the Dog. West-northwest. September.

Boar Gate / I Gate / 亥門

Sign of the Boar. North-northwest. October.


Note: I am using Eugene Woodbury's translations for the various jurisdictions. Yoshie Omura's 十二国記の部屋 has also been helpful in providing further descriptions. The romaji readings for the Twelve Gates may not all be correct.