The Society


Ranks / i / 位

Gods / tei /

Tentei天帝 (heaven's + god)

The creator of the world of the Twelve Kingdoms. Tentei compares the natures of people and decides who are to be the rulers of the twelve kingdoms. Tentei informs the kirin of the choice, however the kirin do not conciously know who their ruler is until they meet the person. It is also believed that Tentei bestows ranka upon married couples.

Seioubo西王母 (west + ruling + mother)

A sage who lives in the Gozan. She was a legendary senjo who lived in the western part of the Mt. Konron. In Seioubo's garden, every 3,000 years a single peach grows. It is said that the person who eats that peach is granted eternal life.

Koutei黄帝 (yellow + god)

People pray to Koutei asking that they will able to escape from youma.

Gyoutei尭帝 (high + god)

The god of harvest.

Utei禹帝 (Chinese emperor + god)

The god of water. Utei protects the kingdoms from flood damage.

Rulers / ou /

No more than twelve people can hold this rank—only the twelve rulers of the twelve kingdoms and are often referred to by "country name + -王" However, the kanji character used for the country name, though it is pronounced the same as the country name, is written differently and hold a different meaning.

The prefix kanji used for the "-ou" titles of the rulers of the twelve kingdoms is the same as that used to prefix their kirin's "-ki" and "-rin" names.

Name (kingdom kanji, name kanji)

En (雁, 延)

Han (範, 氾)

Hou (芳, 峯)

Kei (慶, 景)

Kou (巧, 塙)

Kyou (恭, 供)

Ren (漣, 廉)

Ryuu (柳, 劉)

Sai (才, 采)

Shun (舜, 徇)

Sou (奏, 宗)

Tai (戴, 泰)



Kou /

Only kirin hold this rank. Their titles as kou are Taiho (台輔) and Saiho (宰輔). Taiho is the honorific form of Saiho, which is the official title. The public usually uses Taiho when speaking about or addressing kirin. Shirei also tend to address their masters as Taiho.

Kou /


Haku /


Keihaku / 卿伯

Keihaku are a type of Haku, but are ranked beneath Haku. They rank above Daibu. They are part of the Six Ministries.


Daibu / 大夫


Shi /


The Six Ministries (六官)

The political structure of every kingdom is exactly the same. There are the same six ministries, each of which serves a different function.


Ministry of Earth / chikan / 地官

The Ministry of Earth could also be called the Ministry of the Interior, as it is charged with domestic affairs such as managing the land and controlling the kingdom's census.

Daishito (大司徒)

The Minister of State Affairs. The rank of the Daishito is Keihaku. (Senkaku)

Shoushito (小司徒)

The vice-minister of the Ministry of Earth. Works under the Daishito managing smaller divisions.

Denryou (田猟)

Maintain population records for taxation purposes

Suijin (遂人)

Manage land affairs and control


Ministry of Fall / shuukan / 秋官

The Ministry of Fall manages the kingdom's judicial affairs.

Daishikou (大司寇)

The Minister of Judicial and Foreign Affairs. The rank of the Daishikou is Keihaku.

Shoushikou (小司寇)

The vice-minister of the Ministry of Fall.

Choushi (朝士)

Supervises the behavior of other officials; he is the only official that can directly report the the emperor about punishments towards officals

Shikei (司刑)

The head of the kingdom's judges


Ministry of Heaven / tenkan / 天官

The Ministry of Heaven manages imperial and palace affairs such as general politics and the upkeep of the palace.

Taisai (大宰)

The Minister of Imperial Affairs. The rank of the Taisai is Keihaku.

Shousai (小司宰)

The vice-minister of the Ministry of Heaven.

Shousha (掌舎)

Oversee the maintanence of the palace

Shikyuu (司裘)

Oversee the uniforms of the people in the palace


Ministry of Spring / shunkan / 春官

The Ministry of Spring oversees the school system, ceremonies, rituals and festivals.

Daisouhaku (大宗伯)

The Minister of Religious Affairs. The rank of the Daisouhaku is Keihaku.

Shousouhaku (小宗伯)

The vice-minister of the Ministry of Spring.

Shikan (史官)


Ministry of Summer / kakan / 夏官

The Ministry of Summer manages the kingdom's military affairs.

Daishiba (大司馬)

The Minister of Military Affairs. The rank of the Daishiba is Keihaku. The Daishiba controls the armies. (Mousen, Seishou)

Shoushiba (小司馬)

The vice-minister of the Ministry of Summer.

Daiboku (大僕)

The general of the emperor's imperial bodyguards (Seishou)

Shajin (射人)

The minister of the emperor's imperial bodyguards


Ministry of Winter / toukan / 冬官

The Ministry of Winter deals with the economic affairs of the kingdom. It produces and sells touki (冬器) to authorized weapon dealers, and cares for the imperial treasures (宝重).

Daishikuu (大司空)

Minister of the Treasury and Economic Development. The rank of the Daishikuu is Keihaku.

Shoushikuu (小司空)

The vice-minister of the Ministry of Winter.

Genshi (玄師)

Genshi manufacture jugu.

Gishi (技師)

Gishi research new technology.

Shoushi (匠師)

Shoushi produce goods.


The Army / gun / 軍

there are 20 cavalry to every one air cavalry. there are eight infantry to every cavalry.


The Imperial Army / oushi / (王師)

The Imperial Army is made up of the Forbidden Army and the Capital Province Army.


The Forbidden Army / kingun / (禁軍)

The Forbidden Army is directly under the control of a kingdom's ruler. The army marches under battle flags with the insignia of a dragon mounted on a purple field. The army is divided into three parts: the Left, the Right, and the Center.

Army of the Center / chuugun / (中軍)

Composed of one Black Unit, 12,500 soldiers
Led by the General of the Center.

Army of the Left / sagun / (左軍)

Composed of one Black Unit, 12,500 soldiers
Led by the General of the Left.

Army of the Right / yuugun / (右軍)

Composed of one Black Unit, 12,500 soldiers
Led by the General of the Right.


The Capital Province Army / shutoshuushi / (首都州師)

The Capital Province Army has the same number of soldiers as the Forbidden Army—37,500.


The Air Force / kuukoushi / 空行師



Units / bi /

Black Unit (黒備) — 12,500 soldiers.

White Unit (白備) — 10,000 soldiers.

Yellow Unit (黄備) — 7,500 soldiers.

Blue Unit (青備) — 2,500 soldiers.


Sages / sennin / 仙人

Heaven's Sage / tensen / 天仙

Female Sage / nyosen / 女仙

Women who raise kirin on Mt. Hou until the kirin find the ruler of their kingdom. The are trained on one of the other of the Five Mountains, Suukou, before going to Mt. Hou.

Higher Sage / hisen / 飛仙

Higher sages attain their sage status and immortality based on their accomplishments.

Kingdom's Sage / chisen / 地仙




For further reading: Eugene Woodbury's notes and Otyaku's notes on Rank 位, Government Depts 官府, Admin. Regional Units 行政区